The Options reset glitch is a glitch that occurs in The Sims 3 and The Sims Medieval. It is caused when the user updates graphics card drivers or installs a new video card. This glitch only occurs in the Windows and Mac OS X games. It resets the Users Options to when you first installed the game. Saved files are not affected.
As the result of the Options being reset, the following will occur
- Resolution is reset to 1024x768 and the game is no longer ran in Windowed mode.
- The user is forced to replay the tutorial when reloading a game in The Sims Medieval. In The Sims 3, the tutorial begins when starting a new game.
- Aging is enabled and the Lifespan is reset to normal.
- Story progression is enabled.
- Graphics settings may be changed.
- Freewill is turned back on.
- Sound settings are no longer muted and been reset to their maximum values. Defocus mute is enabled.
- Edge Scrolling is disabled and the player is asked if they want to enable it.